What We Provide

The SUNA Foundation accepts contributions from SUNA members, corporations, and other individuals. These donations benefit the following research grants, educational scholarships, and programs, which are available to SUNA members and chapters. Click on the links below for additional information, including eligiblity criteria and applications. Applications may be submitted to the SUNA Foundation via email (suna@ajj.com) or fax (856-589-7463).

View Past Award Recipients

Chapter Enhancement Scholarships

The Chapter Enhancement Scholarships promote chapter educational activities and/or community programs that uphold the missions of SUNA and the SUNA Foundation within local SUNA chapters. Annually, four qualifying chapters will be eligible to receive a scholarship up to $200.

Go to instructions and application

Start-Up Chapter Funds

Start up chapters may apply for a one-time grant of $100 to support the growth and development of a new chapter in accordance with the missions of SUNA and the SUNA Foundation.

Go to instructions and application

LABORIE Comprehensive Urodynamics Course Complimentary Registration Scholarship

Complimentary registration for a Laborie Comprehensive Urodynamics Course. The recipient is selected by the SUNA Foundation and the scholarship is sponsored by Laborie.

View criteria and instructions

Download the application

Course information and dates

Young Investigators/Experienced Investigators Research Programs

These urologic nursing research grants are awarded to first-time and experienced urology nurse researchers and provide opportunities to conduct clinical urologic nursing research. Grant recipients present their findings at a SUNA national meeting. The SUNA Research Committee handles all research-related applications. All donations to research are maintained through the SUNA Foundation.

Note: No research funds are currently available.

SUNA Conference Scholarships

Scholarships are available to SUNA members to attend the SUNA uroLogic Conference. The SUNA Foundation provides expenses up to $1,500, which will be reimbursed after submission of original receipts for registration, travel, hotel and meals. Any unused funds will be non-transferable.

Go to instructions and application

Read what past recipients say about their conference experience

SUNA Advanced uroLogic Registration Scholarships

Each scholarship will provide conference registration fee up to a maximum of $500, which will be paid at the time of conference registration. Any unused funds will be non-transferable. (Scholarships are sponsored by the American Urological Association and SUNA Past Presidents.)

Go to instructions and application

Ardeth Hale Leadership Award

Ardeth Hale began her career in urology in 1961, working in the same clinic for 28 years before retiring. Ardeth has been involved with SUNA (then AAUA), serving as Associate Western Section Representative, President, and Treasurer. She served as SUNA historian from 2001 to 2006 and compiled the first history exhibit for the SUNA annual conference. Ardeth played a role in establishing the SUNA Foundation in 2007, serving as the first chair until 2014. The Ardeth Hale Leadership Award was established by the Foundation in her honor to recognize a SUNA member who demonstrates exceptional leadership qualities.

Go to instructions and application

Ron Brady Career Mobility Scholarship

The Ron Brady Career Mobility Scholarship is intended to support a qualified SUNA member in pursuit of a baccalaureate degree in nursing, or other advanced nursing degree that will enhance his/her urologic nursing practice. It is funded through SUNA’s association management company, Anthony J. Jannetti, Inc. (AJJ). The scholarship is named for Ron Brady, who served as AJJ Executive Vice President for 20 years and as SUNA Executive Director from 1995 until his death in 1998.

Go to instructions and application

SUNA Foundation Jan LeBouton Certification Scholarship

This grant helps a member become certified in urologic nursing by supplying a CBUNA Prep Guide, funding the exam fee, and providing complimentary registration to the SUNA uroLogic Conference. The Certification Board for Urologic Nurses and Associates (CBUNA) offers an associate, RN, and advanced practice exam. Jan LeBouton was a founding member of Palo Verde Chapter in Tucson. She served SUNA (then AAUA) as Awards Committee Chair from 1984 to 1988 and Membership Committee Chair from 1988 to 1989. She was the first Certified Urologic Nurse in Arizona. In 1989, she became a member of the American Board of Urological Allied Health Professionals. Jan died from cancer at the age of 59. SUNA's Arizona Chapter started this memorial in her honor. The scholarship is currently funded by the SUNA Foundation. CBUNA is responsible for selecting scholarship recipients.

Go to application instructions

SUNA Foundation Recertification Scholarship

This scholarships provide reimbursement of recertification fees. CBUNA is responsible for selecting scholarship recipients. The SUNA Foundation is responsible for funding this scholarship.

Go to instructions and application